The 2002 S.E.C. Awards

As 2003 S.E.C. President, I had the honor of presiding over the Society of Exchange Counselors 41st annual Members Dinner and Awards Banquet on January 21st in Scottsdale Arizona. Attended by more than 100 members and guests, the dinner was the highlight of the Scottsdale marketing meeting. Harry Kennerk served as Master of Ceremonies for the evening where the 2003 officers and directors were formally inducted and our members were honored achievements.

In addition to the Society’s long standing Counselor of the Year Award, the Yvonne Nash Award and the Cliff Weaver Award, there were three new S.E.C. awards presented by 2002 President Phil Corso. In establishing this new tradition, the Society recognized the importance of the SEC Education Foundation, the SEC Observer, and the Society’s role as leaders in creative real estate nationwide, while continuing to honor our members for conducting business together, for their creativity, and their service to the Society.

The following S.E.C. Awards were presented for 2002:

  • S.E.C. Counselor of the Year Award

    The Society of Exchange Counselors most prestigious award is presented each year to that Counselor who best exemplifies the SEC’s core values of Service, Experience and Counsel.

    The 2002 S.E.C. Counselor of the Year Award was presented to Philip D. Corso, S.E.C. of Scottsdale, Arizona.

  • The Cliff Weaver Award “Most Creative Transaction”

    The Cliff Weaver Award is presented to the SEC Counselor(s) who structured the most creative transaction of the year. This award, in honor of one of the most creative Counselors of all time, is given in order to recognize the creativity of our membership.

    The 2002 Cliff Weaver Award was presented to Ed Killian. S.E.C. and Edgar Lopez, S.E.C. for a transaction involving 16 different properties in 4 states utilizing a 1031 Exchange and a Joint Venture to accommodate the needs of multiple clients and participants in the transaction.

  • The Yvonne Nash Award:

    Named in honor of Society member Yvonne Nash, this award is presented to the Counselor who has closed the most transactions during the year with fellow Counselors and/or candidates. The award is specifically designed to recognize the Counselor for the largest number of transactions for the year.

    The 2002 recipients of the Yvonne Nash Award were Ed Killian, S.E.C. of Nevada and Edgar Lopez, S.E.C. of New Mexico for closing 30 transactions with multiple SEC Members in 2002.

  • The SEC Education Foundation “Jack Hunt Excellence in Education Award”:

    This award has been named in honor of Jack Hunt, S.E.C., whose vision and determination led to the formation of the SEC Education Foundation. A plaque was awarded to Jack Hunt in recognition for his service and commitment to SEC Education.

    The 2002 recipient of the Jack Hunt Award was Ted Blank, S.E.C. for his leadership and commitment to SEC Education.

  • The SEC Observer “Bob Steele Award”:

    Named in honor of Bob Steele, SEC, one of the founders and publishers of the original SEC Observer (along with Cliff Weaver and Dick Reno), for contributions to the success of the SEC Observer, the Society’s e-publication. A plaque was presented to Bob Steele in abstentia for his service to the Society.

    The 2002 recipient of the Bob Steele award was Marilee Anderson, S.E.C. for her work in helping establish the SEC Real Estate Observer, the Society’s online publication.

  • The SEC “Real Estate Industry Service Award”:

    The Society is the nations leader in creative real estate, equity marketing and exchanging and recognizes the important role of many of the service companies without which we could not conduct our business.

    The 2002 ” S.E.C. Real Estate Industry Service Award” was presented to Gene Aalseth of First American Title for his service to the Society and the real estate exchange industry. First American’s relationship with the Society spans our 40-year history and continues today as the SEC’s National Corporate Sponsor.

Comments are closed.